Streich Family lecturer to discuss free trade

Cooper Miller

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

To educate students about the North American Free Trade Agreement, Jennifer Apperti-Ochoa, Consul for Economic and Cultural Affairs at the Consulate General of Mexico in Dallas the will speak on Jan. 30 at 11 a.m. in Bridwell Auditorium in the Dillard College of Business Administration on “The North American Free Trade Agreement after 20 years.”

“The lecture will give the perspective from the Hispanic culture and give the positive and negative impacts that NAFTA has had.” said Pattie Redder, a secretary in the Dillard College of Business Administration.

Admission is free. The Streich family funded the international economic and cultural affair speaker.

“The Streich family provided the university with an endowment that made a donation in promoting the event.” Owen said.

Many lectures have been given around the world since 1978 by respected doctors, professors, and speakers with MWSU being the latest stop. Dr. James Owen, director of the Mamie Raborn Center for Economic Education in the Dillard College of Business Administration explained that this is a pretty important lecture.

“This will be the 31st lecture. It’s also the 20th anniversary of the North American Free Trade Agreement,” Owen said.

The lecture series is named in honor of the Streich family, owners of former area Gibson’s Discount Centers, and is designed to give MSU students, staff, and the public insight into the American free enterprise system in relation to today’s economic status.


  • 1978-79 Mr. T. Boone Pickens, Jr.Mesa Petroleum Company
  • 1979-80 Dr. Lester C. ThurowMassachusetts Institute of Technology
  • 1982-83 Mr. Richard T. Schlosberg, IIIHarte-Hanks Communications, Inc.
  • 1983-84 Dr. Margaret N. MaxeyUniversity of Texas, Austin
  • 1984-85 Mr. Hobart RowenThe Washington Post
  • 1985-86 Honorable Paula UnruhU.S. Department of Commerce
  • 1986-87 Dr. Hans F. SennholzThe Foundation for Economic Education
  • 1987-88 Dr. Robert Z. LawrenceThe Brookings Institute
  • 1988-89 Mr. Henry C. (Hank) SchulteDonie Chair Company, Inc.
  • 1989-90 Mr. Lindley H. Clark, Jr.The Wall Street Journal
  • 1990-91 Dr. Ray MarshallUniversity of Texas, Austin
  • 1992-93 Honorable Carlos Ruiz SacristanRepublic of Mexico
  • 1993-94 Mr. Drayton McLane, Jr.Houston Astros Baseball Club
  • 1994-95 Mr. Raymond MarlowMarlow Industries, Inc.
  • 1995-96 Mr. Forrest J. (Frosty) TroyThe Oklahoma Observer
  • 1996-97 Mr. Robert D. (Bob) McTeer, Jr.Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
  • 1997-98 Dr. Charles L. HughesCVR, Dallas
  • 1998-99 Mr. Steffen E. PalcoCross Timbers Oil Company
  • 1999-00 Dr. A. J. KondonassisUniversity of Oklahoma
  • 2000-01 Honorable Enrique Martínez y MartínezState of Coahuila
  • 2001-02 Dr. John H. SeffelUniversity of the Incarnate Word
  • 2003-04 Mr. Wm. Sherman BradleyWiGo Wireless, Inc.
  • 2004-05 Col. Jeffrey B. Kendall80th FTW Sheppard A.F.B.
  • 2005-06 Mr. Richard Fisher, PresidentFederal Reserve Bank of Dallas
  • 2006-07 Mr. Walt PavloPresident, Etika, LLC
  • 2007-08 Ms. Susan CombsTexas Comptroller of Public Accounts
  • 2008-09 Mr. Tom AllenFederal Accounting Standards Board
  • 2009 -10  Dr. James BeckleySam Houston State University and  Federal Reserve Bank of  Dallas
  • 2010–11  Dr. Robert W. (Bill) GilmerFederal Reserve Bank of Dallas
  • 2011–12   Richard YamaroneBloomberg News
  • 2012 -13 Dr. Klaus Merforth Erfurt Univerisity of Applied Sciences, Erfurt, Germany
Print Friendly, PDF & Email